Sport article

Over the last few weeks we have seen the golf season really take off.During the course of the year I tend to train a handful of golfers who come into me looking for some help with their mobility,movement and their core.Let me start by saying I ain’t no golfer and I may not be able to get you that hole in 1.However,the drills I have brought into the golfers gyms sessions has lead them to great improvements in their performance.

If you are person who plays a racket or rotational sports then this article will come in very handy for you.From golfers,hurlers to camogie,hockey and tennis players the info today will come in very handy for you.From working and competing myself in and around the sport and fitness environment I have always picked up on one thing outside of the playing field.Most sports people always think they need “sports specific” training programs or “tailored sports performance”programs for the gym for their sport.Sure I think sport specific training does have its place but only at a certain stage and would always recommend you to get the basics done right first.

I have been around quite a lot of sports and athletes both at amateur, semi pro and pro level so I guess I have seen what goes on and what is needed most outside the playing field.Over the last ten years I have shadowed the Australian rugby team,many league of Ireland and UK based soccer players,a handful of American college based athletes,club and county GAA players and a good few golfers.We have seen a shift in what goes on off the field of play and we now see the importance of gym work,nutrition and off the field recovery protocols.There is no doubt about that all the work that goes on behind the scenes nowadays has lead to overall improved performance.

So how do I help golfers and other rotational based sports people?

I first get them in and I asses their movement pattern,strength,power,mobility and core strength.All these areas are vital for a good athlete and if you can tap into these areas and improve them it can only lead to a better all round performance.Like I said above I may not be able to get you that hole in 1 so you might need to find a golf coach for that but these areas above can only compliment your game.

It all comes back to the basics a lot of the time and even though certain people might think they need sport specific drills for their game or sport it really all comes back to the having a good basic solid foundation with your fitness first.

After a quick assessment most golfers/sports people I train fall down in these 3 areas.

  1. Very poor mobility/flexibility
  2. Weak core
  3. Little to no warm up/cool down structure and throughout the course of the season they have picked up silly back,hip or shoulder issues and have played through them without finding the true cause/reason

You want to improve your game,find better positions,stay mobile and injury free then I really suggest you go work on the basics above.

These are the areas I suggest for golfers/sports people to look into and it really is nothing too specific.

  1. Mobility program
  2. Have some emphasis on strength training in your program
  3. Have some emphasis on power development in your program
  4. Look to work and develop your core strength

All these 4 areas can be put together into 1 whole 60 minute session and really only need to do 1-2 full sessions of these a week in and around your sport.

The benefits I have seen after 3/4 months have been phenomenal.Here is a example of a client below.His upper back and overall mobility was quite weak and this overall prevented him from finding good start positions.Now,I am not a golf coach but I do know that positions are important in all sports particularly in golf and if you can improve these they can only lead to a better all round game.IMG_1778 (1)

Straight away you can see a far better improvement in upper back,improved upright position and this can only lead to a far better starting block strike.Generally speaking most people fall down on tight upper back,rounded shoulders,tight hip flexors and extremely tight hamstrings.I have already covered basic drills to combat those tight areas in this article.

Your mobility is key.Whether you are a golfer,sports person or anybody who wants to look after their body then you need to stay on top of your mobility.As we age we tend to stiffen up,pick up wear and tear injuries and overall this can effect our daily tasks.Most golfers I have worked with at the start have never really done any specific mobility warm up drill.I put together this mobility circuit for golfers and it only takes 5 minutes.It really isn’t just for golfers and have done basic movements like this with a lot of sports people I have trained over the years.

Go watch this below and all you need is a basic resistant band to have in the golf bag.

Ideally I would always suggest golfers to look after their mobility and core first then look at other areas like strength and power work dotted throughout the year.I have wrote 2 articles on power and strength programs.Most rotational based sports people need to up their core game.The stronger the core the better the performance in my opinion.There are some superb rotational core drills out there that you bring into your plan.Low back pain is v common with golf and if you can improve your core then this can only help out.Below are some excellent drills for helping you out.

I hope you’ve found this information useful and if you need any more advice you can pop me a message from the links below.

David Last is a personal trainer based in Dublin. For more information you can follow him on FacebookInstagram and Twitter. Or you can send him a direct message here.

You can also see some of his previous articles here.

Leave a Reply

